Find a Tender · Live tender
The Mayor and Commonalty and Citizens of the City of London
Barbican Centre Renewal – Furniture Designer
Live: the notice is at tender stage.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- £200,000Estimated value stated in the notice
- Deadline (UK time)
- No deadline statedThe source does not state a submission deadline.
- Published
- 24 Jul 2026
- Region
- Not stated
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
The City invites Bidders to complete and submit a request to participate in the Procurement for the provision of Barbican Furniture Designer.
The procurement of a furniture designer forms a crucial part of the Barbican Renewal project. The contract will cover the design of bespoke furniture, strategy for re-use of existing furniture, and specifications and proposed layouts of off-the-shelf furniture across the main Barbican Renewal spaces.
Designers will be asked to think creatively about accessibility, flexibility and sustainability, for all audiences and artists who visit the Centre, and for any occasion.
The appointment will cover all furniture strategy and design work through to delivery, installation on site and handover. The programme of work will align with RIBA Plan of Work, and the contract will include break clauses at specific points.
The manufacture and installation will form a separate contract, managed directly by the Barbican Renewal project team or their appointed representative.
This tendering exercise is being undertaken using the electronic tendering system ‘City of London Corporation Sourcing & Contracts Portal’ (https://cityoflondon.ukp.app.jaggaer.com/) Suppliers will need to register an interest on the system in order to participate and registration is free.
The estimated contract value given at sections 31 and 32 is for the full duration of the contract including the maximum possible extensions. The estimated annual contract value is therefore £200,000.00)
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 79934000
04/ History
Releases of this notice
3 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 18 May 2026Planning notice
Planning notice published 18 May 2026.
Release 045287-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 24 Jul 2026Tender notice
Tender notice published 24 July 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 070080-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 24 Jul 2026Tender notice update
Tender notice update published 24 July 2026. Stated change: The annual contract value was miscalculated.
Release 070091-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a submission deadline.
06/ Questions
About this notice
07/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- ocds-h6vhtk-069ad3
- Source
- Find a Tender
- Stage
- tender · Open
- Last verified
- Fri 31 Jul 2026, 08:12 BST
- Read at
- Fri 16 Oct 2026, 20:51 BST
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.