Find a Tender · Live tender
The Mayor and Commonalty and Citizens of the City of London
Barbican Renewal Programme - MEP Programme
Live: the notice is at tender stage.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- £50,000,000Estimated value stated in the notice
- Deadline (UK time)
- No deadline statedThe source does not state a submission deadline.
- Published
- 14 Sep 2026
- Region
- Not stated
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
This trade contract package comprises the Mechanical, Electrical and Public Health (MEP) strip-out and renewal works forming part of the Barbican Renewal Programme (BRP), a major infrastructure renewal of the existing, occupied Barbican Centre on behalf of the City of London Corporation (Contracting Authority, operating the Barbican Arts Centre as Employer). The works are to be let under a JCT CM/TC 2024 Trade Contract, delivered under a Construction Management approach, with Blue Sky Building appointed as Construction Manager and Gardiner & Theobald LLP as Lead Consultant.
This is a strip-out and renewal package, not new-build construction. The works comprise the removal of existing, life-expired MEP infrastructure and the installation of new plant, distribution and containment across multiple basement plant levels and public floors of a large, live, publicly operated arts venue comprising a concert hall, cinemas, art galleries, conservatory, library, function rooms and car parks. The Trade Contractor will be required to work around continued public operation of the Centre, including phased access, a full 12-month closure period from end June 2028, isolation and shutdown of live building services, and interfacing with retained plant and systems, across every work area described below
The MEP package is a single trade contract comprising the following designated work area sections:
• MEP Infrastructure and Site-Wide Systems
• Conservatory
• Art Gallery Foyer
• Curve Gallery
• Main Foyers
• Stair 8
• Catering Block
The Barbican Centre is classed as a Higher-Risk Building (HRB) under the Building Safety Act 2022 and falls within the remit of the Building Safety Regulator (BSR); the Trade Contractor is to allow for the relevant Gateway compliance obligations throughout delivery.
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 45300000
- 71334000
04/ History
Releases of this notice
2 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 24 Aug 2026Planning notice
Planning notice published 24 August 2026.
Release 080327-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 14 Sep 2026Tender notice
Tender notice published 14 September 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 086888-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a submission deadline.
06/ Questions
About this notice
07/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- ocds-h6vhtk-06ea78
- Source
- Find a Tender
- Stage
- tender · Open
- Last verified
- Mon 21 Sep 2026, 08:13 BST
- Read at
- Fri 16 Oct 2026, 20:50 BST
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.