Skip to main content

Find a Tender · Historical

Birmingham City Council

National Parking Platform (NPP)

Historical · AwardedNo open deadline

Historical: no longer open for bids.

01/ The notice

Key facts

Value
Not statedValue not stated in source
Deadline (UK time)
No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this historical notice.
Published
22 Sep 2026
Region
Not stated

02/ The brief

What the notice says

Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.

The National Parking Platform (NPP) aggregates parking service providers and facilitates the use by consumers of a wide range of payment providers when parking at locations operated by Birmingham City Council. The platform enables motorists to pay for parking using their preferred parking application and provides a common interface between Birmingham City Council and participating parking payment providers. Under the agreement, the National Parking Platform Limited provides access to and operation of the National Parking Platform, associated integration services and ongoing platform support. The contract provides for reciprocal consideration of £1 between the parties with no other fees payable by either party under the agreement. The National Parking Platform Limited is currently the only organisation operating the National Parking Platform and is the recipient of intellectual property and associated assets developed through the Department for Transport's National Parking Platform programme. Birmingham City Council considered that a direct award was justified pursuant to section 41 and Schedule 5 of the Procurement Act 2023.

Birmingham City Council awarded this contract by way of a direct award pursuant to Section 41 and Schedule 5, Paragraph 6 (Single Supplier) of the Procurement Act 2023. The Council determined that NATIONAL PARKING PLATFORM LIMITED was the only organisation capable of providing access to, operating and supporting the National Parking Platform, including the associated integration services required to enable interoperability between the Council's parking estate and participating parking payment providers.

The Council's assessment concluded that only NATIONAL PARKING PLATFORM LIMITED held the necessary rights, assets, intellectual property and operational control of the National Parking Platform necessary to deliver the required services. On this basis, the Council relied upon the single supplier direct award ground available under Schedule 5 of the Procurement Act 2023.

Following award, the Council undertook a review of the procurement file and associated transparency requirements. Information relating to the award, including details of the supplier, contract value, contract term and the justification supporting the procurement approach, was published through Contracts Finder in order to promote transparency and provide visibility of the award decision.

To further enhance transparency and maintain a complete procurement record, the Council is publishing this Contract Details Notice. Publication of this notice provides additional visibility of the contract arrangement and the basis upon which the award decision was made. This notice is published in the interests of openness, transparency and good procurement governance and does not alter the underlying procurement decision.

The Council retains a documented procurement justification supporting reliance on the single supplier direct award provisions and remains satisfied that the procurement represented an appropriate and proportionate means of securing continued access to the National Parking Platform and associated services. The publication of this Contract Details Notice is intended to provide a clear and comprehensive record of the contract and to further mitigate any residual transparency risk associated with the award.

03/ Classification

CPV codes

Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.

  • 63712400
  • 66172000
  • 72212211

04/ History

Releases of this notice

One release held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.

  1. 22 Sep 2026
    Notice

    Notice published 22 September 2026.

    Release 089735-2026

    View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)

05/ Limits

What the source does not tell us

  • The source does not state a usable value.
  • Only one release is held, so there is no change history.

06/ Questions

About this notice

Birmingham City Council published this notice.

Value not stated in source.

07/ Related

Where to go next

These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.

Reference
ocds-h6vhtk-0777bf
Source
Find a Tender
Stage
award · Awarded
Last verified
Tue 29 Sep 2026, 08:14 BST
Read at
Fri 16 Oct 2026, 17:58 BST

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.

RFP Quest logo — RFP software, RFP platform and RFP tools

Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.

15 minutes · RFP Quest

Book a Demo