Skip to main content

Find a Tender · Historical

Birmingham City Council

Provision of Digital Autopsy Services

Historical · AwardedNo open deadline

Historical: no longer open for bids.

01/ The notice

Key facts

Value
Not statedValue not stated in source
Deadline (UK time)
No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this historical notice.
Published
30 Sep 2026
Region
Not stated

02/ The brief

What the notice says

Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.

Birmingham City Council wishes to establish a framework agreement for the provision of Digital Autopsy Services.

Digital Autopsy Service - A Digital Autopsy is a non-invasive post-mortem, referred to as a CTPM short for Computed Tomography Post-Mortem.

A CTPM is a scan of the deceased, conducted by a radiographer using a CT scanner. Following which, the resultant scans are analysed by a GMC registered radiologist to produce an interpretation in the form of a digital autopsy report.

The digital autopsy report contains or suggests the cause of death for consideration by a pathologist at Birmingham Central mortuary. Section 1 of the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 places a duty on the coroner to investigate certain deaths. Section 14 of the Coroners Act 2009 allows the coroner to order a suitable post-mortem examination to enable the coroner to decide if Section 1 applies. CTPM’s are an innovative technology that should in the future prevent invasive post-mortems, which many families and some religions would like to see avoided.

This procurement relates to a call-off under a Framework Agreement, which does not guarantee or commit any level of expenditure.

The framework agreement will commence on 01 October 2026 and will be in place for a period of 2 + 1 years subject to performance and budget availability. (Unless terminated under the terms and conditions

of the contract)

03/ Classification

CPV codes

Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.

  • 85120000
  • 85121000
  • 85121200
  • 98371100
  • 98371110

04/ History

Releases of this notice

2 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.

  1. 12 May 2026
    Tender notice

    Tender notice published 12 May 2026.

    Deadline in this release: Mon 8 Jun 2026, 12:00 BST.

    Release 043517-2026

    View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
  2. 30 Sep 2026
    Notice

    Notice published 30 September 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.

    Release 092295-2026

    View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)

05/ Limits

What the source does not tell us

  • The source does not state a usable value.

06/ Questions

About this notice

Birmingham City Council published this notice.

Value not stated in source.

07/ Related

Where to go next

These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.

Reference
ocds-h6vhtk-0696cc
Source
Find a Tender
Stage
award · Awarded
Framework
Yes, as recorded by the source
Last verified
Wed 7 Oct 2026, 08:16 BST
Read at
Fri 16 Oct 2026, 18:00 BST

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.

RFP Quest logo — RFP software, RFP platform and RFP tools

Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.

15 minutes · RFP Quest

Book a Demo